Harlam Council Chair, Dan Fuchs

The purpose of the Harlam Camp Council is to secure resources to provide support and guidance in carrying out the mission, vision and program of URJ Camp Harlam. The Council’s advisory role includes providing resources of all types, locating sources for development and contributing our personal and professional expertise. The Council is comprised of committed lay leaders working in partnership with Harlam’s professional staff and the lay leadership of the Union for Reform Judaism (URJ).

Council members are stakeholders in the future of Harlam, and together with camp’s professional staff, they make a mutual promise to work together for the greater good of the Harlam community. We recognize that to be effective in this work, it must be personally meaningful and fulfilling.

To fulfill Harlam’s mission and vision, Members of the Council aid in determining goals, initiatives and strategies. During a Council member’s service, they pledge to help execute these strategies and commit to the following roles and responsibilities as a member of the Council:

  • Give of one’s time, professional and financial resources and relationships
  • Contribute to the Annual Campaign (to benefit Scholarship), Capital Campaign, and other fundraising efforts at a personally significant level
  • Include Camp Harlam in personal legacy planning
  • Attend and actively participate in Council meetings
  • Participate in active projects throughout the year. Current (as of January 2018) Task Force efforts include:
    • Council Restructuring Task Force
    • Open & Safe: LGBTQ Task Force
    • Open & Safe: Interfaith Inclusion
    • The Future of the Introductory (12-Day) Experience Program
    • Session Structure: What Will 2020 Look Like?
    • Sustainability Initiative at Camp
  • Maintain up-to-date knowledge of Camp Harlam and communicate our mission and program to individuals and families in the communities we serve
  • Represent Harlam in communities and congregations through outreach, advocacy and promotion

If you would like more information about the Council, please contact Aaron Selkow (Executive Director) at ASelkow@URJ.org or 610-668-0423, ext. 1034.

Council Members

  • Dan Fuchs (Chair)
  • Ali Reich (Vice Chair)
  • Marc Landis (Vice Chair)
  • Michael Wilck (Secretary)
  • Dan Pliskin (Immediate Past Chair)
  • Rosanne Selfon (Past Chair)
  • Melo Taylor (NFTY Professional)
  • Ellie Tepper (NFTY Professional)
  • Amanda Wachstein (NFTY Professional)
  • Jennifer Finkelstein
  • Jen Goldstein
  • Jeff Green
  • Samantha Green
  • Rabbi Michael Holzman
  • Caroline Kallman Joffe
  • Josh Laster
  • Jennifer Lee
  • Julie Snyder Levine
  • Lori Motis
  • Daniel Nestel
  • Alison Petok
  • Ronni Pressman
  • Mimi Prushan
  • Adam Rosenberg
  • Adina Rosenthal
  • Julie Schwartz
  • Matt Schwartz
  • Ramona Sitko
  • Joshua Waldorf
  • Bettyruth Walter

Harlam Chaverim

  • Rabbi Craig Axler
  • Dan Baratz
  • Jaqueline Bass
  • Josh Bomze
  • Scott Fein
  • David Forstein
  • Patty Glascom
  • Sharon Kollender
  • Abraham Morris
  • Susan Olinsky
  • Alan Prushan
  • Helene Sacks
  • Larry Simon
  • Ben Wachstein
  • Rabbi Steve Weisman